# Minnesota State Boys' Hockey Tournament Records that were established or tied in 2020

#### **Records Established:**

#### Most overtime games:

Hill-Murray appeared in its record 18th overtime game. Edina is their next closest competitor with 13 o.t. games.

#### Fewest shots of goal in championship game by winning team:

Mahtomedi's 12 shots on goal against Hermantown is the fewest shots taken in a championship game by the winning team. The previous fewest was 14 by Rochester John Marshall in the 1977 championship game with Edina East.

### **Records Tied:**

### Most points scored in period:

Warroad's Grant Slukynsky recorded five points (3 goals, 2 assists) in the first period of his game against Hutchinson, tying the mark held by John Mayasich of Eveleth in 1951.

## Team scoring fewest goals in tournament games:

Lakeville South became the tenth team to go scoreless during the tournament (the most recent was Spring Lake Park in 2015).

# Most power play goals scored by individual in period:

Dylan Godbout from Hill-Murray scored two power play goals in the first period against St. Thomas Academy, tying the record held with 34 other players.

# **Jottings:**

The 90 goals scored in the Class A Tournament this year were the second highest total in one tournament. The all-time mark is 106 goals in the 1979 tourney.

Mahtomedi won its first overtime game ever when it beat Hermantown (the Zephyrs had lost its first seven o.t. games).

Hill-Murray won their eighth overtime game and only trail Edina (10) and Duluth East (9) for more extra stanza wins. Their ten overtime losses remains the record by any team.

With their three wins this year, Hill-Murray has now won 43 games in the tournament. They passed Duluth East's total of 42 and are now third only to Roseau's and Edina's record 55 wins. They also appeared in their 30th tournament, trailing only Roseau's 34 appearances.